Restore Deleted Customer QuickBooks Desktop

QuickBooks Customer Accidentally Deleted

How To Restore An Accidentally Deleted Customer In QuickBooks?

QuickBooks software allows you to add and manage your customer within the platform. As your business expands, it becomes important that you stay focused, organized, and in control of all your clients, customers, and financial transactions. QuickBooks lets you not only add new customers but also sub customers. However, at times, you may mistakenly deleted customers instead of making any other action. MyOnePro going to talk about how to restore QB accidentally customers details you can follow the steps below and there is no need to go for QuickBooks Data Recovery Services or any QuickBooks File Recovery for such issue .

Customer List Deleted In QuickBooks Desktop Why ?

Why does it happen?

If you are using QuickBooks, you must know that the customer lists allow you to arrange and view critical information, including but not limited to names, addresses, as well as account balance. However, at times, you may feel the need to delete a customer yourself if the job is complete or just to organise your records. While doing so, it is quite possible that you could accidentally delete a customer that you did not wish to erase in the first place.

Additionally, it is also possible that a customer was deactivated by you or your accounting manager once they were no longer required. However, you may need to access certain data of the deleted and inactivated customer. In such circumstances, where you wish to reactivate to restore an inactive or deleted customer, you may need to follow certain technical procedures.

MyOnePro explains the process of a Recovering QuickBooks Deleted Invoices rated by many customers because detail described in step step.

How To Recover Deleted Customers in QuickBooks?

One of the things that is highly recommended for QB users is to unassign the code from a customer rather than deleting it. This way, the customer still stays in your list and is simple to recover yet it’s not visible when you try to track time.

To restore or recover a deleted customer in QuickBooks, follow these steps:

  • Step 1: Go to QuickBooks Time and select Customers
  • Step 2: Click on the pencil icon next to the customer you plan to unassign
  • Step 3: Uncheck the option that says Assign to all team members and click on Edit
  • Step 4: Ensure no customers are assigned here
  • Step 5: Click on the back arrow and press Save

Moreover MyOnePro always try to give users right and advanced tips and tricks so users can do the things easily either they want to learn How To Delete Bill QuickBooks or they want to know How To Delete Expense In Quickbooks.

Please keep in mind that if you have deleted a customer, you should not create a replacement customer before undergoing these next few steps.

Non-integrated accounts

To restore a customer, make sure that the name and formatting is exactly the same as the original. Verify it by locating a past timesheet tracked against that code or in the Timesheets list.

Now, to restore the deleted customer, you have to:

  • In QuickBooks Time, click on Jobs
  • Then, click More and select the Import/Export (.csv) link
  • Now, go to the Export tab >> Existing Jobs.csv
  • Next, add the deleted customer into the spreadsheet and press File >> Save As
  • Choose a location and ensure that the file format is .csv
  • Press Save.
  • Go back to QuickBooks Time >> Import Jobs window >> Import
  • Click Choose File and select the .csv file
  • Press Open
  • Under Options, leave the first two checkboxes ticked and choose Import to restore the delete customer

Integrated accounts

If your account is integrated with QuickBooks, you can recover the deleted customer(s) using the integration. You can either choose to restore the customer within the software or, if it is already an active customer, you can make temporary changes to the name of the particular customer in the QB software. Lastly, run sync/import to restore it back into QuickBooks Time.

How To Get Back Deleted Customers In QB Desktop?

To get back QuickBooks accidentally deleted customer in the Desktop version, you have the follow these simple steps one by one:

  • Step 1: Open your QB Desktop and login using your credentials
  • Step 2: Go to Expenses or Sales from the menu on the left side of the screen
  • Step 3: Now, select Customers
  • Step 4: From within the Customer screen, select Settings by clicking on the Gear icon
  • Step 5: You will now see a dropdown with multiple boxes. Select the one that says “Include Inactive”
  • Step 6: Once you see all the inactive/deleted customers in the list, tick the boxes against the ones you plan on recovering
  • Step 7: Click on the option that says Action. You can locate it below the Gear Icon.
  • Step 8: Choose Make Active to activate the inactive or accidentally deleted customer in QuickBooks Desktop.

Getting Back Deleted Customers In QBO?

Getting back a QuickBooks Accidentally deleted customer can be a bit challenging in QuickBooks Online, mainly because once a customer is deleted or marked inactive, it is not easily visible in your QB account. However, there is a way to restore such a customer by following the below-mentioned steps:

  • Step 1: Go to the Sales tab on left menu and click on Customers
  • Step 2: Locate and click the Gear icon right above the Action column
  • Step 3: Check the box from the dropdown that says Include Inactive. This will show all the deleted and inactive customers
  • Step 4: Once you see all the inactive/deleted customers, you will see an option that says Make Active to the right of their entry
  • Step 5: Click Make Active to reactive and get back the deleted customers in QBO

If you need any kind of help connect to QuickBooks Support Phone Number .

Frequently Asked Questions : Customer List Disappear , Not Found QB Pro, Premier , Enterprise

How Can I Hide A Customer Instead Of Deleting In QuickBooks ?

To hide a customer in QuickBooks, follow these steps:

  • Go to Customer Center located at the top of the QB window
  • Select “Customers & Jobs” from the list on the left
  • Double-click the customer you wish to hide
  • Select “Customer is inactive” in the Edit window and press “OK”

Is It Possible To Merge Customers In QuickBooks ?

Absolutely. If you wish to merge a customer in QuickBooks, you have to:

  • Go to Customer Center
  • Select “Customer & Jobs” from the left side of the screen
  • Double-click the customer you don’t want
  • Rename the customer according to your needs
  • Press “OK” and then select “Yes” to complete the merge

Learn more about How To Merge Two Accounts QuickBooks in easy and simple steps .

Can I Delete A Customer In QuickBooks That I No Longer Need ?

Yes, of course. Although most professionals suggest that you deactivate a customer rather than deleting it in case you need to access their records later, if you still wish to delete, you need to:

  • Start QuickBooks and login with your credentials
  • Go to Customer Center and select “Customer & Jobs”
  • Select the customer you have decided to remove and press “Edit”
  • Hit “Delete Customer Job” to remove the customer from QuickBooks

If you want to view very old customer history or details but can’t view it, you can get help from the
QuickBooks Support USA team.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *